Buying
your home | Refinancing your home | Getting
a home equity credit line
If you're like most people, buying a home is the
biggest investment you'll ever make. Annual
mortgage, taxes and insurance costs can range from
25% to 40% of your gross annual income.
By visiting this reference
page, you're on your way to protecting yourself,
and making the home-buying process easier by becoming
an informed consumer.
Read, talk to family, friends
and real estate professionals. You'll be glad
you took the time to understand the process.
1. Looking
for a home without being pre-approved.
Pre-approval and pre-qualification
are two different things. During the pre-qualification
process, a loan officer asks you a few questions,
then hands you a "pre-qual" letter. The
pre-approval process is much more thorough.
During the pre-approval
process, the mortgage company does virtually
all the work associated with obtaining full-approval.
Since there is no property yet identified
to purchase, however, an appraisal and title
search aren't conducted.
When you're pre-approved,
you have much more negotiating clout with the
seller. The seller knows you can close
the transaction because a lender has carefully
reviewed your income, assets, credit and other
relevant information. In some cases (multiple
offers, for example), being pre-approved can
make the difference between buying and not buying
a home. Also, you can save thousands of
dollars as a result of being in a better negotiating
situation.
Most good Realtors®
will not show you homes until you are pre-approved.
They don't want to waste your, their,
or the seller's time.
Many mortgage companies
will help you become pre-approved at little
or no cost. They'll usually need to check
your credit and verify your income and assets.
2. Making
verbal (oral) agreements!
If an agent tries to
make you sign a written document that is contrary
to their verbal commitments, don't do it! For
example, if the agent says the washer will come
with the home, but the contract says it will
not--the written contract will override the
verbal contract. In fact, written contracts
almost always override verbal contracts. When
buying or selling real estate, abide by this
maxim: Get it in writing!
3. Choosing
a lender because they have the lowest rate.
Not getting a written good-faith estimate.
While rate is important,
you have to consider the overall cost of your
loan. Pay close attention to the APR, loan fees,
discount and origination points. Some
lenders include discount and origination points
in their quoted points. Other lenders
may only quote discount points, when in fact
there is an additional origination point (or
fraction of a point).
This difference in the
way points are sometime quoted is important
to you. One lender will quote all points,
while another lender may disclose an extra point,
or fraction thereof, at a later time--an unwelcome
surprise.
The cost of the mortgage,
however, shouldn't be your only criteria. There
is no substitute for asking family and friends
for referrals and for interviewing prospective
mortgage companies. You must also feel
comfortable that the loan officer you are dealing
with is committed to your best interests and
will deliver what they promise.
4. Not
getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company
tells you they have locked your rate, get a
written statement detailing the interest rate,
the length of the rate lock, and other particulars
about the program.
5. Using
a dual agent (an agent who represents the buyer
and seller in the same transaction).
Buyers and sellers have
opposing interests. Sellers want to receive
the highest price, buyers want to pay the lowest
price. In most situations, dual agents
cannot be fair to both buyer and seller. Since
the seller usually pays the commission, the
dual agent may negotiate harder for the seller
than for the buyer. If you are a buyer,
it is usually better to have your own agent
represent you.
The only time you should
consider using a dual agent, is when you can
get a price break (usually resulting from the
dual agent lowering their commission). In
that case, proceed cautiously and do your homework!
6. Buying
a home without professional inspections.
Taking the seller's word that repairs have been
made.
Unless you're buying
a new home with warranties on most equipment,
it is highly recommended that you get property,
roof and termite inspections. These reports
will give you a better picture of what you're
buying. Inspection reports are great negotiating
tools when it comes to asking the seller to
make repairs. If a professional home inspector
states that certain repairs need to be made,
the seller is more likely to agree to making
them.
If the seller agrees
to make repairs, have your inspector verify
the completed work prior to close of escrow.
Do not assume that everything will be
done as promised.
7. Not
shopping for home insurance until you are ready
to close.
Start shopping for insurance
as soon as you have an accepted offer. Many
buyers wait until the last minute to get insurance
and find they have no time left to shop around.
8. Signing
documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents
in a hurry. As soon as possible, review
the documents you'll be signing at close of
escrow--including a copy of all loan documents.
This way, you can review them and get
your questions answered in a timely manner.
Do not expect to read all the documents
during the closing. There is rarely enough time
to do that.
9. Making
moving plans that don't work.
You expect to move out
of your current residence on Friday and into
your new residence over the weekend. Also
on Friday, your lease terminates and the movers
are scheduled to appear.
Friday morning arrives:
bags packed, boxes stacked, children under arm
and the dog on a leash; you're sitting on your
front door stoop awaiting the arrival of the
movers.
Your phone rings. Your
loan closing is delayed until the following
Tuesday. The new tenants turn into your
driveway with a weighted-down U-Haul and the
movers pull up across the street.
You ask yourself, "Where's
the nearest Motel 6 and storage facility? How
much will the movers charge for an extra trip?
Can we afford it?"
How can you avoid such
a disaster? Cancel your lease and ask
the movers to show up five to seven days after
you anticipate closing your transaction. Consider
the extra expense an insurance policy. You're
buying peace of mind--and protecting yourself
from expensive delays.
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1. Refinancing
with your current lender without shopping around.
Your current lender
may not have the best rates and programs.
Believing it's easier
to work with your current lender is a common
misconception. In most cases, they'll
require the same documentation as other lenders
and mortgage brokers. This is because
most loans are sold on the secondary market
and have to be approved independently. Even
if you've been good at making payments to your
existing lender, they'll still have to process
the verifications all over again.
2. Not
doing a break-even analysis.
Determine the total
transaction costs and how much you'll save each
month by lowering your monthly mortgage payment.
Divide the transaction costs by the monthly
savings to determine the number of months you'll
have to stay in the property to recoup your
refinancing costs.
For example, if the
costs of refinancing total $2000, and you save
$50 per month, you break-even in 2000/50=40
months. In this case, you should only
refinance if you plan to stay in the home for
at least 40 months.
Note: The above example is suited to
comparing two similar loans when the intent
is to lower your monthly payment and recoup
transaction costs relatively quickly. Other
refinancing transactions require different kinds
of analyses which are beyond the scope of this
document. Other types of refinancing transactions
include exchanging a fixed rate for an ARM,
or a 30 year mortgage for a 15 year mortgage.
3. Paying
for a home appraisal when you think the appraised
value may be too low.
Have the appraisal company
conduct a Desktop/drive-by appraisal and provide
you with a range of possible values.Your
mortgage company can ask an appraiser to do
this for you.
Do not waste your money
on a complete appraisal if you believe the home
is unreasonably priced.
4. Using
the county tax assessor's value as the market
value of your home.
Mortgage companies do
not use the county tax assessor's value to help
determine if they'll originate your loan. They,
like real estate agents, usually use the sales
comparison approach (formerly known as the market
data comparison approach).
5. Signing
documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents
in a hurry. As soon as possible, review
the documents you'll be signing at close of
escrow--including a copy of all loan documents.
This way, you can review them and get
your questions answered in a timely manner.
Do not expect to read all the documents
during the closing. There is rarely enough time
to do that.
6. Not
providing your mortgage company with documents
in a timely manner.
When your mortgage company
asks you for additional paperwork--get cracking!
They're trying to get you approved! If
you don't quickly respond to your broker's requests,
you could end up paying higher rates should
your rate lock expire.
7. Not
getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company
tells you they've locked your rate, get a written
statement detailing the interest rate, the length
of the rate lock, and other particulars about
the program.
8. Drawing
against your home equity credit line before
you refinance your first mortgage.
Many lenders have "cash-out"
seasoning requirements. If you draw against
your credit line for anything other than home
improvements, they'll consider your first mortgage
refinance transaction a "cash-out" refinance.
This creates stricter lending requirements
and can, in some cases, break your deal!
9. Getting
a second mortgage before you refinance your
first mortgage.
Many mortgage companies
look at the combined loan amounts (i.e., the
sum of the first and second loans) when you
are refinancing only your first loan. If
you plan on refinancing your first loan, check
with your mortgage company to see if having
a second loan will cause your refinance to be
turned down.
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1. Not
checking to see if your credit line has a pre-payment
penalty clause.
If you are getting a
"NO FEE" credit line, chances are it has a pre-payment
penalty clause. This can be very important
(and expensive) if you are planning to sell
or refinance your home in the next three to
five years.
2. Getting
too large a credit line.
When you get too large
a credit line, you can be turned down for other
loans. Some lenders calculate your credit
line payments based upon the available credit,
even when your credit line has a zero balance.
Having a large credit line indicates a large
potential payment, which makes it difficult
to qualify for loans.
3. Not
understanding the difference between an equity
loan and a credit line.
An equity loan is closed--i.e.,
you get all your money up front, then make payments
on that fixed loan amount until the loan is
paid. An equity credit line is open--i.e.,
you can get an initial advance against the line,
then reuse the line as often as you want during
the period the line is open. Most credit
lines are accessed through a checkbook or a
credit card. Credit line payments are
based upon the outstanding balance.
Use an equity loan when
you need all the money up front--e.g. home improvements
or debt consolidation.
Use a credit line if
you have an ongoing need for money or need the
money for a future event--e.g., you need to
pay for your child's college tuition in three
years.
4. Not
checking the lifecap on your equity line.
Many credit lines have
lifecaps of 18%. Be prepared to make high
interest payments if rates move upwards.
5. Getting
a credit line from your local bank without shopping
around.
Many consumers get their
credit line from the bank with which they have
their checking account. Shop around before
deciding to use your bank.
6. Not
getting a good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Within three working
days after receipt of your completed loan application,
your mortgage company is required to provide
you with a written good-faith estimate of closing
costs.
7. Assuming
that the interest on your home credit line/loan
is tax deductible.
In some instances, the
interest on your home credit line is NOT tax
deductible.
It is beyond the scope
of this document to provide tax advice or quote
from the IRS code. Contact an accountant
or CPA to determine your particular situation.
8. Assuming
a home equity line is always cheaper than a
car loan or a credit card.
A credit card at 6.9%
can be cheaper than a credit line at 12%, even
after the tax deduction. To compare rates,
compare the effective rate of your credit line
with the rate on a credit card or auto loan.Effective rate = rate * (1 - tax
bracket)
Example: If the
rate of the home equity credit line is 12% and
your tax bracket is 30%, your effective rate
is12%*(1-0.3)=12%*0.7=8.4%
If your credit card
is higher than 8.4%, the credit line is cheaper.
Besides the interest
rate, you may also want to compare monthly payments
and other terms of the loan.
9. Getting
a home equity credit line if you plan to refinance
your first mortgage in the near future.
Many mortgage companies
look at the combined loan amounts (i.e., the
first loan plus the equity line/loan) even though
they are refinancing only the first mortgage.
If you plan on refinancing your first
loan, check with your mortgage company to determine
if getting a second line/loan will cause your
refinance to be turned down.
10. Getting
a home equity credit line to pay off your credit
cards if your spending is out of control!
When you pay off your
credit cards with your credit line, don't put
your home on the line by charging large amounts
on your credit cards again! If you can't
manage the plastic, get rid of it!
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